K-State’s Michael Bishop named to College Football Hall of Fame ballot

K-State Athletics Communications

Former K-State great and record-setting quarterback Michael Bishop is one of 76 Football Bowl Subdivision players named to the 2016 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. (Photo: K-State Athletics Communications)

Former K-State great and record-setting quarterback Michael Bishop was one of 76 Football Bowl Subdivision players named to the 2016 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced.

One of the most dynamic players in program history, Bishop played a major role in propelling the Wildcats to their first-ever No. 1 national ranking during the second of his two seasons at K-State (1997-1998). 

The 1998 Heisman Trophy runner-up and the Davey O’Brien Award winner, Bishop still holds the K-State season passing efficiency record after a 159.6 rating in 1998 (164-of-295 for 2,844 yards and 23 TDs/4 INTs) in addition to the season total offense mark at 3,592 yards. He went 22-3 as a starter, including a 15-1 mark in Big 12 play, while also earning All-Big 12 honors both as a junior and senior. Bishop was taken in the seventh round of the 1999 NFL Draft by New England. Most recently, Bishop also was named to the K-State Ring of Honor Class of 2015 and will join Jordy Nelson, Clarence Scott and Darren Sproles as the newest members of the Wildcat program’s most elite honor.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the [hall of fame] ballot when you think that more than 5.06 million people have played college football,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names.”

The announcement of the 2016 Class will be made Jan. 8 at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, Arizona. To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the past 50 years; and cannot be currently playing professional football. 

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school’s geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee may make recommendations to the Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago.

K-State, which returns 44 letterwinners — including 16 starters — from last year's 9-4 team, begins the 2015 campaign Sept. 5 by hosting South Dakota at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. A limited number of single-game tickets for the 2015 season went on sale online only at www.k-statesports.com/tickets on June 22, while fans also can purchase tickets by calling the ticket office at 1-800-221-CATS.

K-State Alumni Association
100 Alumni Center, 1720 Anderson Avenue, Manhattan, KS 66506-1001  |  800-600-ALUM (2586) | 785-532-6260 
Alumni@K-State.com  |  http://www.k-state.com/s/1173/start.aspx  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram