K-State alumni assume new leadership positions on board of directors

K-State Alumni Communications

Travis Lenkner, Chicago, Illinois, was named K-State Alumni Association board chair-elect last year and will assume his leadership position as 2015-16 chair at the annual meeting. (Courtesy photo)

The K-State Alumni Association board of directors will transition its membership and leadership June 6 during the board’s annual meeting in Manhattan, Kansas.

Travis Lenkner, Chicago, Illinois, who was named chair-elect last year, will assume his leadership position as 2015-16 chair at the annual meeting. A 2001 Kansas State University graduate, Lenkner is managing director and chief underwriting officer for Gerchen Keller Capital. He will succeed Roger McClellan, Wichita, Kansas, who will fill the immediate past-chair position until June 2016. A 1988 K-State graduate, McClellan is president of Wildcat Construction Co. Inc.

Dan Yunk, Manhattan, will serve as chair-elect. He will become the chair in June 2016. A 1971, ’75 and ’87 K-State graduate, Yunk is the owner of Yunk Consulting.

In a general election this spring, members of the Alumni Association approved a slate of five new members of the board of directors. These alumni will begin their four-year terms at the board’s annual meeting and will continue to June 2019.

They are Dr. Kate Perkins (1991, 1993), Howard, Kansas, a veterinarian at Andover Veterinary Clinic and a cattle rancher; retired Air Force Capt. Steve Dunning (1986), Hutchinson, Kansas, president and CEO of Salina Planing Mill Inc.; John Morgan (1974, 1976), Spicewood, Texas, an investor and managing member of Campa Investments; Nabeeha Kazi Hutchins (1996), Washington, D.C., president and CEO of Humanitas Global; and Phil Stroupe (1976, 1977), Waukesha, Wisconsin, pharmacy supervisor at the Norris Student Health Center at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.

Dr. Kate Perkins

Steve Dunning

John Morgan

Nabeeha Kazi Hutchins

Phil Stroupe

Additional board leadership includes Richard Myers (1965), Arlington, Virginia, chairman, Kansas State University Foundation board of directors; Curt Frasier (1973), Beloit, Kansas, treasurer; Amy Button Renz (1976, 1986), Manhattan, president and CEO of the Alumni Association and board secretary; Greg Willems, Manhattan, president and CEO of the KSU Foundation; and Kirk Schulz, Manhattan, university president.

Two K-State students filling yearlong standing appointments also will assume their seats on the board. They are Taylor Fry, Great Bend, Kansas, Student Alumni Board president, and Andrew Hurtig, Wichita, K-State student body president.

Outgoing members to be recognized for their service to the Association’s board of directors are Mary Jo Myers (1964), Arlington, Holly Roberts (1981), Colorado Springs, Colorado; Aubrey Abbott Patterson (1998), Hutchinson; Edgar Ramirez (2004), Naples, Florida; and Aaron Otto (1998), exiting past chair, Roeland Park, Kansas.

Outgoing student members to be recognized for their services are Adam Wilkerson, Columbia, Missouri, Student Alumni Board immediate past president; and Reagan Kays (2015), Weir, Kansas, past K-State student body president.

K-State Alumni Association
100 Alumni Center, 1720 Anderson Avenue, Manhattan, KS 66506-1001  |  800-600-ALUM (2586) | 785-532-6260 
Alumni@K-State.com  |  http://www.k-state.com/s/1173/start.aspx  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram