Wildcat Pride, Iman Awards recipients recognized

K-State Alumni Communications
The K-State Alumni Association's 2014 Wildcat Pride award recipient, Olivia Collins, K-State assistant professor emeritus of leadership studies, stands with previous recipients Barry Flinchbaugh (left), professor of agricultural economics, and Jeff Morris, K-State vice president for communications and marketing, at the award ceremony Oct. 3. (Photo: K-State Alumni Association)

 2014 Wildcat Pride Recipient
Olivia Collins, K-State assistant professor emeritus of leadership studies, was honored Oct. 3 at the K-State Alumni Association's fall board of director's meeting with the 2014 Wildcat Pride award.

The award recognizes K-State faculty or staff who have been instrumental in advancing the mission of the K-State Alumni Association through support of its programs.

Collins earned her doctorate in human ecology from K-State in 1990. She has served as a member of the K-State faculty since 1988 and, in 2003, as an instructor with the Mary Lynn and Warren Staley School of Leadership Studies, helped establish the nonprofit leadership minor. While serving as an instructor, Collins helped establish a link between the school and the Alumni Association by creating internship opportunities at the Association for her students to gain experience working for a nonprofit.

Collins earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Texas at Austin in 1969 and a master’s in human development and the family from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1984. She has been recognized with many leadership and service awards, including the Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award in 2010 and the 2014 Susan M. Scott Community Leadership Award, in recognition of her lifelong mission to inspire others to carry out their call to action, both from the Staley School of Leadership Studies.

Read the full release here.

The K-State Alumni Association's 2014 Iman Award recipients Swinder Janda (left) and Jürgen A. Richt (third from left) stand with Rae and Ron Iman at the awards ceremony Oct. 30. (Photo: K-State Communications and Marketing)
 2014 Dr. Ron and Rae Iman Outstanding Faculty Recipients
Two Kansas State University faculty members in veterinary medicine and business administration each received $5,000 awards in recognition of their outstanding research and teaching at a ceremony Oct. 30 at the K-State Alumni Center. Introduced in 2007, the annual Dr. Ron and Rae Iman Outstanding Faculty Awards are sponsored by the K-State Alumni Association and are made possible through the generosity of Ron and Rae Iman.

Jürgen A. Richt, Regents distinguished professor, university distinguished professor and Kansas Bioscience Authority eminent scholar in the College of Veterinary Medicine, will receive the Iman Outstanding Faculty Award for Research. The recipient of the Iman Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching is Swinder Janda, professor of marketing and the Robert M. Edgerley chair in global business in the College of Business Administration.

Read the full release here.

K-State Alumni Association
100 Alumni Center, 1720 Anderson Avenue, Manhattan, KS 66506-1001  |  800-600-ALUM (2586) | 785-532-6260 
Alumni@K-State.com  |  http://www.k-state.com/s/1173/start.aspx  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram