116 Kansas State University students receive 2014-15 Legacy Scholarships

K-State Alumni Communications
The tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State License Plates have raised more than $2.3 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements. (Photos: K-State Communications and Marketing)

Recipients of the K-State Alumni Association’s Legacy Scholarships were recognized during a presentation at the K-State football game in Manhattan on Aug. 30.

The $1,000 scholarships were awarded to 116 children and grandchildren of K-State alumni for the 2014-15 academic year. K-State students receiving the scholarship are incoming freshmen as well as current and transfer students. The recipients are both in-state and out-of-state students. Applicants are considered if at least one parent or grandparent is a K-State alumnus, with preference given to members of the Alumni Association.

“Alumni across Kansas and the nation have encouraged the university and Association to address tuition issues of legacy students, and this program greatly assists us in those efforts,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. “The Association’s board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State.”

The scholarships are made possible through funds generated by the K-State License Plate program, administered by the Alumni Association for the university.

The state-issued license plates with the purple Powercat logo can be found on the back of more than 6,100 vehicles in Kansas. The program, administered locally in all 105 county treasurer offices, began in 1997, and the tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State License Plates have raised more than $2.3 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements.

The Legacy Scholarship recipients listed by hometown are Sadie Boline, Allen; Julia Hilts, Andover; Dylan Buessing, Tracy Schmitz and Tricia Schmitz, Axtell; Dustin Rottinghaus, Baileyville; Hannah Tritschler, Bel Aire; Taberie Halling, Caldwell; Brandon Barlow and Jonathan Estes, Caney; Katherine Martin and Molly Ward, Chanute; Trent Tanking, Circleville; Amanda Strickler, Colony; Spencer Ward, Colwich; Kaylee Engle, Cottonwood Falls; Kyle Blakeslee, Ellinwood; Sophia Lehmann and Victoria Lehmann, Eudora; Alyson Daniels, Gardner; Anna Shippy, Hays; Scott McGehee, Hesston; Valerie Binns, Hiawatha; Bailey Kaufman, Hillsboro; Nolan Gaede, Holcomb; Ryan Haefke, Holton; Alexis Witt, Hudson; Kolbyn Allen, Humboldt; Mattie Bieberly, Kathlyn Engle and Shelby Queal, Hutchinson; Rachel Schrag, Kingman; Meredith Morris, Lawrence; David Feist, Olivia Haney, Abby Schleicher and Max Schnittker, Lenexa; Taylor Harms, Lincolnville; Cynthia Bressler, Logan; Mason Gates, Kate Haddock, Cassidy Harper, Dana Johnson, Emma Miller, Rachel Peters and Chelsea White, Manhattan; Alexander Smith, Mankato; Grace Heidebrecht and Ryan Horton, McPherson; Orin Huber, Morrowville; Colton Aarstad, Newton; Haley Claxton and Allyson Woodard, Olathe; Audrey Wilson, Osawatomie; Sophia Bachman, Britli Fuller, Olivia Kunkel and Logan Reilly, Overland Park; Katelyn Bell, Allison Ozier and Ronald Sullivan, Paola; William Orth and Frances Woodridge, Prairie Village; Evan Woodbury, Quenemo; Dayna Pachta, Riley; Ellen Bodine, Roeland Park; Kelli Stallbaumer and Anna Sunderland, Sabetha; Shelbie Witt, Salina; Shelby Hill, Satanta; Rachel Anliker, Aubrey Davis and Austin Davis, Scott City; Lacy Ackerman, Justice McKernan and Garrett Steinlage, Seneca; Carley Deibler, Elizabeth Demars, Lauren Komer and Seadon Smart, Shawnee; McKenzie Gee, Stafford; Danica Johnson, Strong City; Caroline Kabus, Joshua Stegman, Kaytlin White and Konner Winkley, Topeka; Zachary Kratochvil, Udall; Kendy Edmonds, Valley Falls; Ashley Annan, Jay Disberger, Joshua Nider and Shannon Oakley, Wamego; Caelan Blair, Wathena; Rachel Frank, Westmoreland; Taylor Ireland, Sara Kellams and Olivia Pierce, Wichita; and Eli Camp, Winfield;  Mark Hay, Thousand Oaks, California; Mark Siemsen and Robin Siemsen, Lamar, Colorado; Alana Bouchard, East Granby, Connecticut; Nathaniel Brown, Manteno, Illinois; Jessica Smith, Ely, Iowa; Jamie Westphal, Chillicothe, Missouri; Emily Grotenhuis, Independence, Missouri; Andrew Mohler and Nathan Mohler, Kansas City, Missouri; Megan Mellring, Maryland Heights, Missouri; Courtney Marsh, Papillion, Nebraska; Timera Kakish, Las Vegas, Nevada; Catherine Caffera, Fairport, New York; Elizabeth Lapham, Dublin, Ohio; Emily Stallbaumer, McKinney, Texas; Katlyn Krause, Sugar Land, Texas; and Lyndsie Graham, Van Alstyne, Texas.

K-State Alumni Association
100 Alumni Center, 1720 Anderson Avenue, Manhattan, KS 66506-1001  |  800-600-ALUM (2586) | 785-532-6260 
Alumni@K-State.com  |  http://www.k-state.com/s/1173/start.aspx  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram