Scholarships help K-State students continue Wildcat legacy

K-State Alumni Communications

Amy Button Renz '76, '86, president and CEO, K-State Alumni Association, and Kirk Schulz, Kansas State University president, pause for a selfie during the 2015-16 Legacy Scholarships presentation. (Photo: Jeff Moore)

The K-State Alumni Association helps families continue the Wildcat tradition from generation to generation through the Legacy Scholarship program, providing scholarships to the children and grandchildren of Kansas State University alumni. 

The Association honored the newest group of Legacy scholars at the first K-State football game of the season Sept. 5 in Manhattan. This year, $1,000 scholarships for 2015-16 were awarded to 133 children and grandchildren of K-State alumni. In the past fiscal year, the Alumni Association has awarded $350,000 in scholarships overall. 

“Alumni across Kansas and the nation have encouraged the university and Association to address tuition issues of legacy students, and this program greatly assists us in those efforts,” said Amy Button Renz ’76, ‘86, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. “The Association’s board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State.”

A Legacy Scholarship is a gift that helps students achieve their dream of graduating as K-Staters.

“I want to express my gratefulness for your extreme generosity,” said Sophia Bachman, past Legacy scholar. “I am so thankful that you care about my education at Kansas State University enough to provide financial assistance. It truly is a blessing that I will remember forever.” 

The scholarships are made possible through funds generated by the K-State License Plate program, administered by the Alumni Association for the university. The state-issued license plates with the purple Powercat logo can be found on the back of more than 7,100 cars and motorcycles in Kansas. The program, administered locally in all 105 county treasurer offices, began in 1997, and the tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State License Plates have raised more than $2.7 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements. License plates also are available in Texas and Maryland.

 2015-16 Legacy Scholars

A total of 133 students received Legacy Scholarships this year. (Photo: Jeff Moore)
The Legacy Scholarship recipients listed by Kansas hometown are Mikaela Anderes, Abilene, Kan.; Nikole Cain, Allen, Kan.; April Ascher, Alta Vista, Kan.; Julia Hilts, Andover, Kan.; Dylan Buessing and Tricia Schmitz, Axtell, Kan.; Hannah Tritschler, Bel Aire, Kan.; Gary Hadachek and Joni Sheets, Belleville, Kan.; Riley Gates, Beloit, Kan.; Kathryn Schieferecke, Bennington, Kan.; Maxwell Burden, Benton, Kan.; Alexander Cook, Bucyrus, Kan.; Trenton Busch, Cimarron, Kan.; Blade Winter, Clifton, Kan.; Kaylee Engle, Cottonwood Falls, Kan.; Kaitlin Morgan, Deerfield, Kan.; Robert Askew, Dodge City, Kan.; Mikala Potts, Elmdale, Kan.; Catherine Helten, Garden Plain, Kan.; Faith McClaskey, Girard, Kan.; Scott Hirsch, Grantville, Kan.; Kallie Peterson, Great Bend, Kan.; Joshua Richards, Hays, Kan.; Scott McGehee, Hesston, Kan.; Valerie Binns and Lydia Lierz, Hiawatha, Kan.; Chloe Pfeifer, Holcomb, Kan.; Ryan Haefke, Holton, Kan.; Kolbyn Allen, Humboldt, Kan.; Erinn Engle, Mya Masterson and Molly Proffitt, Hutchinson, Kan.; Tyler Albracht, Kansas City, Kan.; Abigail Harbert, Kingman, Kan.; Nicole Dipman, Larned, Kan; Delaney Griffin, Olivia Haney, Hanna LaLonde and Abby Schleicher, Lenexa, Kan.; Samantha Adams, Alyssa Frey, Justin Gittle, Benaiah Gorman, Susannah Schmidt, George Schultz and Luke Stegeman, Manhattan, Kan.; Justin Bina, Marion, Kan.; Grace Heidebrecht, Caroline May and Jordyn Stephens, McPherson, Kan.; John Kelly, Minneapolis, Kan.; Colton Aarstad, Newton, Kan.; Mikaela Altis, Rachel Kipper, Taylor Middleton, Nicholas Reddin, Sarah Rogg, Kara Seiler and Chelsea Webb, Olathe, Kan.; Brendan Clary, Michael Emley, Mitchell Fowler, Britli Fuller, Carson Funk, Olivia Kunkel and Caroline Nichols, Overland Park, Kan.; Karli Fleischer, Ozawkie, Kan.; Allison Ozier, Paola, Kan.; Kaitlyn Stark and Anna Swank, Pratt, Kan.; Ellen Bodine, Roeland Park, Kan.; Lake Schultz-Pruner, Rossville, Kan.; Nathan Berard, Lane Forge and Shannon Oakley, St. George, Kan.; Cody Campbell, Andrew England, Melissa Mahoney, Emily Michels, Bailey Waters and Zoe Woolsoncroft, Salina, Kan.; Luke Minnix, Scott City, Kan.; Kacie Steinlage, Seneca, Kan.; Erin Hauber, Shawnee, Kan.; Anna Proffitt, Sterling, Kan.; MaryLynn Griebel, Stockton, Kan.; Danica Johnson, Strong City, Kan.; Justin Patrick, Tonganoxie, Kan.; Caroline Kabus, Jason Logan, Matthew Mohan, Shaylene Rees, Mark Spicer and Joshua Stegman, Topeka, Kan.; Evan Balthazor and Wesley Crow, Valley Center, Kan.; Jay Disberger and Johnathan Disberger, Wamego, Kan.; Caelan Blair, Wathena, Kan.; Rachel Frank, Westmoreland, Kan.; Erika Kufahl, Wheaton, Kan.; Bethany Chegwidden, Jenna Dahms, Nikki Klaassen and Olivia Pierce, Wichita, Kan.; and Eli Camp, Winfield, Kan.

Out-of-state recipients are Ryan Oberrieder, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Catherine Caffera, Fairport, N.Y.; Alexandra Parr, Florissant, Mo.; Alexis Walstad and Hailey Walstad, Frisco, Texas; Davilyn Rohr, Glendale, Ariz.; Landon Warmund, Grain Valley, Mo.; Denny Graham and Lyndsie Graham, Howe, Texas; Nathan Mohler, Kansas City, Mo.; Kooper Holbrook, Kearney, Mo.; Caleb Mitchell and Lucas Peterson, Liberty, Mo.; Katelyn Meek, Longmont, Colo.; Megan Mellring, Maryland Heights, Mo.; Molly Bertz, Mayview, Mo.; Andrea Jeffrey, Montrose, Colo.; Brenna Graves, Parker, Colo.; Saxton Watson, Parkville, Mo.; Stephen Kirkwood, Pingree Grove, Ill.; Spencer Anderson, Platte City, Mo.; Katherine Little, Raton, N.M.; Elizabeth Reicher, Raymore, Mo.; Emily Stolfus, St. Joseph, Mo.; Jenna Hostetler, West Liberty, Ohio; and Mattie Vandel, Weston, Mo.

K-State Alumni Association
100 Alumni Center, 1720 Anderson Avenue, Manhattan, KS 66506-1001  |  800-600-ALUM (2586) | 785-532-6260  |  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram