109 Kansas State University students receive 2013-14 Legacy Scholarships

K-State Alumni Communications
Recipients of the K-State Alumni Association’s Legacy Scholarships were recognized during a presentation at the K-State football game in Manhattan on Aug. 30. (Photo: David Mayes)

Recipients of the K-State Alumni Association's Legacy Scholarships were recognized during a presentation at the K-State football game in Manhattan, Kan., on Aug. 30.

The $1,000 scholarships were awarded to 109 children and grandchildren of K-State alumni for the 2013-14 academic year. K-State students receiving the scholarship are incoming freshmen as well as current and transfer students. The recipients are both in-state and out-of-state students. Applicants are considered if at least one parent or grandparent is a K-State alumnus, with preference given to members of the Alumni Association. 

"Alumni across Kansas and the nation have encouraged the university and Association to address tuition issues of legacy students, and this program greatly assists us in those efforts," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the Association. "The Association's board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State."

The scholarships are made possible through funds generated by the K-State License Plate program, administered by the Association for the university.

The state-issued license plates with the purple Powercat logo can be found on the back of more than 4,500 vehicles in Kansas. The program, administered locally in all 105 county treasurer offices, began in 1997, and the tax-deductible royalties paid on K-State License Plates have raised $2 million for student scholarships and recognition of achievements.

The Legacy Scholarship recipients listed by Kansas hometown are Kurstin Guy, Abilene; Amy Boline, Allen; Laura Erbe, Altoona; Julia Hilts, Andover; Taylor Buessing and Audrey Schmitz, Axtell; Bradley Peterson, Basehor; Hannah Tritschler, Bel Aire; Adam Schieferecke, Bennington; Timothy Minihan, Blaine; Alexander Cook, Bucyrus; Allison Droege, Burlingame; Jacob Nightingale, Burrton; Taberie Halling, Caldwell; Trenton Tanking, Circleville; Ryan Blake, Clay Center; Bradley Eastman, Coffeyville; Amanda Strickler, Colony; Kaylee Engle, Cottonwood Falls; Cody Jensen, Courtland; Victoria Lehmann, Eudora; Kenzie Curran, Farlington; Kenneth Rienbolt, Fort Scott; Matthew Pfeifer, Garden City; Andrew Hawkins, Goddard; Austin Marshall, Halstead; Rashele Hynek, Hanover; Nolan Gaede, Holcomb; Landon Cook, Hope; Emma Miller, Hugoton; Erica Gianakon, Hutchinson; Elizabeth Petite, Junction City; Lindsay Albracht and Joshua Hoit, Kansas City; Elly Miller, Kensington; Rachel Schrag, Kingman; Emily Mast and Abby Schleicher, Lenexa; Taylor Harms, Lincolnville; Chelsea Fleming, Louisburg; Sophia Harms, Kara James, Joshua Klug, Emma Miller, Leif  Nelson and Chelsea White, Manhattan; Grace Heidebrecht, McPherson; Halie Headrick, Mullinville; Cassidy Shields, Oberlin; Raegan Hermreck, Onaga; Molly Brown, Dalton Funk, Rebecca Jenkins and Robert Reilly, Overland Park; Patrick Kennedy and Hannah Ozier, Paola; Regan Bartels, Phillipsburg; McNeil Dolliver and Alex Orth, Prairie Village; Chelsea Flickinger, Pretty Prairie; Evan Woodbury, Quenemo; Allie Henry, Randolph; Levi Bailey and Dayna Pachta, Riley; Cherilyn Mahoney, Salina; Rebekah Anliker and Luke Minnix, Scott City; Lacy Ackerman, Seneca; Ellen Bodine, Elizabeth Demars, Andrea Kieffer and Jake Priddy, Shawnee; Benjamin Berard, St. George; McKenzie Gee, Stafford; Delilah Griebel and Paige Kriley, Stockton; Danica Johnson, Strong City; Grace Bagley, Taylor Hiltgen, Caroline Kabus, Patrick Stegman, Konner Winkley and Ashley Wunder, Topeka; Jordan Korb, Valley Falls; Cody Sherbert, Wakefield; Dallas Smith, Walnut; Jay Disberger, Shannon Oakley and Elizabeth Zabel, Wamego; Bayleigh Bisnette, Washington; Rachel Frank, Westmoreland; Rebecca Kohman, Wheaton; Cole Claassen, Whitewater; and Brandy Tholstrup, Wichita.

Out-of-state recipients are Mark Hay, Thousand Oaks, Calif.; Brandi Worster, Highlands Ranch, Colo.; Kristyn Garver, Albia, Iowa; Rebecca Oberrieder, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Jessica Smith, Ely, Iowa; Marcus Dominguez, Sycamore Ill.; Sean Wonderlich, Mahomet, Ill.; William Baumgartner, Courtland, Minn.; Breanna Nelson, Kansas City, Mo.; Elizabeth Kaifes, Lake Winnebago, Mo.; Austin Fangman and Shelby Surmeier, St. Joseph, Mo.; Andrew Hill, Cincinnati, Ohio; Lydia Lobmeyer, Darrouzett, Texas; and Danielle Golway, McKinney, Texas.

K-State Alumni Association
100 Alumni Center, 1720 Anderson Avenue, Manhattan, KS 66506-1001  |  800-600-ALUM (2586) | 785-532-6260 
Alumni@K-State.com  |  http://www.k-state.com/s/1173/start.aspx  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram