More than 80 K-State students receive Wabash CannonBall Kansas City Scholarships

Posted July 16, 2020

Wabash CannonBall Kansas City

The K-State Alumni Association has awarded 84 scholarships to Kansas State University students for the 2020-21 school year through the Wabash CannonBall Kansas City Gala.

The Wabash CannonBall Gala is an annual black-tie event which includes an evening of dining and dancing to raise scholarship money for students from the Kansas City-area to attend K-State. The gala was started in 2007 and, to date, the gala has awarded nearly 700 scholarships for Kansas City-area students totaling nearly $1.7 million. Additionally, the Wabash CannonBall Kansas City also has funded a scholarship endowment fund totaling nearly $2.8 million.

"So many K-State students have benefitted from the generosity and support of their fellow Wildcats in the Kansas City-area over the past decade," said Andrea Bryant Gladin, assistant vice president of alumni programs for the Alumni Association. "It is truly amazing to see how much this event has done for the K-State community as a whole. We want to thank everyone who has helped grow this event from where we started in 2007 to where we are today."

The students receiving scholarships in the amount of $2,500 for the upcoming academic year were selected from a wide pool of applicants. To be eligible for the scholarship, students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25 on a weighted or unweighted scale and reside in the greater Kansas City-area, which includes Johnson and Wyandotte counties in Kansas, and Jackson, Cass, Clay and Platte counties in Missouri.

The scholarship recipients include 55 incoming freshmen. The incoming freshman who received the scholarship listed by high school and hometown are:
Lauren Dornbusch, Shawnee Mission East High School, Fairway, Kansas; Chase Eccles, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner, Kansas; Hannah Huyett, Turner High School; and Elvia Lopez-Morales, Turner High School, Kansas City, Kansas; Jessica Binckley, Park Hill High School, Kansas City, Missouri; Samantha Kopecky, Saint James Academy; and Avanelle Stoltz, Notre Dame de Sion, Leawood, Kansas; Michael Bartkoski, Saint James Academy; Tate Brungardt, Saint James Academy; Dylan Feist, Saint James Academy; and Danielle Larson, Homeschool/Christ Preparatory Academy, Lenexa, Kansas; Peter Mallon, Liberty High School, Liberty, Missouri; Matthew Murphy, Shawnee Mission North High School, Merriam, Kansas; Joshua Barron, Olathe Northwest High School; Theresa Burg, Olathe Northwest High School; Katherine Dickerson, Olathe South High School; Danny Eckerberg, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School; Peyton Falen, Olathe West High School; Leah Heeren, Olathe North High School; Nathan Hurst, Olathe North High School; Airianna O'Donohue, Olathe North High School; Cade Rapp, Olathe Northwest High School; and Nicholas Saia, Olathe Northwest High School, Olathe, Kansas; Emily Bachelor, Olathe East High School; Braden Black, Olathe East High School; Kaitlyn Boehringer, Blue Valley High School; Lindsey Crowell, Blue Valley Northwest High School; Jack Dillavou, Blue Valley High School; Krista Else, Olathe East High School; Emily Farthing, Blue Valley Northwest High School; Luke Horsch, Olathe East High School; Brandon Kirmer, Shawnee Mission South High School; Katherine Lewis, Blue Valley West High School; Lacy Mathes, Blue Valley Northwest High School; Olivia McCready, Blue Valley North High School; Kyle Odgers, Blue Valley West High School; Sean Perkins, Shawnee Mission West High School; Micah Roening, Blue Valley North High School; Victoria Ward, Blue Valley High School; and Taylor Crowell, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park, Kansas; Aiden Higgerson, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School; and Elizabeth Sandstrom, Shawnee Mission East, Prairie Village, Kansas; Brian Blood, Shawnee Mission North High School; Taylir Charest, Mill Valley High School; Mason Ericson, De Soto High School; Katherine Free, Saint James Academy; Isaac Freeman, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Joey Gillette, Mill Valley High School; Joshua Glunt, Mill Valley High School; Ries Laster, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Abby Lee, Mill Valley High School; JD Reece, Saint James Academy; Lauren Stanton, De Soto High School; Aidan Taylor, Mill Valley High School; and Analiese Wilhauk, Mill Valley High School, Shawnee, Kansas.

Additionally, 29 current K-State students have received the opportunity to have their scholarship renewed for the 2020-21 school year. They are:
Natalie Mullin and Matthew Swords, Gardner; Scout Molder, Kansas City, Kansas; Elena Mannebach, Kansas City, Missouri; Ariana Cecil and Matthew Lippe, Leawood; Stacia Mendoza, Sarah Rose, Anna Traynham and Vivian Weaver, Lenexa; Josi Frigon, Liberty; Michael Dowd, Kennedy Mounce, Noah Pace and Olivia Pruss, Olathe; Erin Cocjin, Braden Funk, Katherine Horton, Ben Murdock, Nicholas Nolkemper and Emily Sweat, Overland Park; Shelby Martinez, Peculiar, Missouri; Madison Brown, Josie Carey, Ariana Coker, Thomas Colling, Kayla Craigmile, Meghan Dillon and Amelia Mullin, Shawnee.