Tony Jurich Community Commitment and Leadership Student Awards

The Tony Jurich Community Commitment and Leadership Student Awards honor two graduating students who have demonstrated a commitment to community leadership and service through Jurich’s Core Leadership Tenets.

Jurich joined the Kansas State University faculty as an assistant professor in 1972 and achieved the rank of full professor in 1981. He was a respected researcher, teacher, lecturer, mentor and supervisor of therapists in training. Jurich also was a recognized leader in the field of marriage and family therapy and received numerous awards, including the Organizational Contribution Award from the America Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, for which he served as national president, in recognition of his contributions as an educator, presenter, advocate and leader. Jurich taught undergraduate and graduate students in the College of Human Ecology for more than 39 years until his death in 2010.

The recipients of the Tony Jurich awards – undergraduate or graduate students – will have demonstrated Jurich’s Core Leadership Tenets, which guided his teaching and leadership: strive for resonance; assume value and be respectful; be compassionate; do what is right; seek out, affirm and utilize diversity; and lead by example.

2019 Recipients
Rafael Garcia, undergraduate
Heather Love, graduate
Learn more about the recipients.

Powercat bullet point 2018 Recipients
Mary Abounabhan, undergraduate
James Krotz, graduate
Learn more about the recipients.
View photos from the 2018 event.

Powercat bullet point 2017 Recipients
Emily Stolfus, undergraduate
Janelle Brooks, graduate
Learn more about the recipients.
View photos from the event.

Powercat bullet point 2016 Recipients
Rebecca Jenkins, undergraduate
Chance Lee, graduate

Powercat bullet point 2015 Recipients
Nicholaus Herrmann, undergraduate
Barrett Scroggs, graduate

Powercat bullet point 2014 Recipients
Kaitlin Long, undergraduate
Lori Kniffin, graduate
Marcie Lechtenberg, graduate

Collin Just '18
Assistant director of student programs