K-State Alumni Association honors eight K-State students for excellence

Posted April 15, 2021

Eight graduating Kansas State University students have been recognized by the K-State Alumni Association for outstanding achievements throughout their college careers. The Association recognizes students annually with Anderson Senior Awards, Tony Jurich Community Commitment and Leadership Awards, and Graduate Student Awards.

Faculty and peers nominate students for the awards, and committees consisting of members of the Alumni Association board of directors and K-State students select the recipients.

“These students are role models for leadership, community service, inspiration and academics and exemplify the caliber of students at K-State,” said Tamie Redding, assistant director of student programs for the Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association is pleased to celebrate these students by recognizing them for their contributions to the Wildcat community.”

The Anderson Senior Award recognizes four graduating seniors for excellence academics, leadership, inspiration and service. The award was established in 1998 and pays tribute to K-State’s second president, John Anderson, who served from 1873 to 1879. 

The recipients are: 

  • Kelsie DeWitt, Hays, Kansas, master’s candidate in architecture, for academics.
  • Jansen Penny, Burlington, Colorado, bachelor’s candidate in industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, for leadership.
  • Riley Sleichter, Abilene, Kansas, bachelor’s candidate in agribusiness, for inspiration.
  • Thomas Smith, Windom, Kansas, bachelor’s candidate in agricultural economics, for service.

Anderson Senior Awards

Two students have been recognized with the Tony Jurich Community Commitment and Leadership Award. The award was established in honor of the late K-State professor Tony Jurich, who taught in the College of Health and Human Sciences – formerly the College of Human Ecology for more than 39 years. It recognizes both graduate and undergraduate students who have demonstrated a commitment to community leadership and service through Jurich’s core leadership tenets.

The recipients are: 

  • Pranav Savanur, Bengaluru, India, bachelor’s candidate in biology.
  • Lindsey Hamner, Shawnee, Kansas, master’s candidate in public administration.

Tony Jurich Community Commitment and Leadership Award

The Alumni Association recognizes two graduate students with its Graduate Student Award, which was established in 2010. The award recognizes outstanding graduate students for academics, service and leadership.

The recipients are: 

  • Tahmineh Azizi, Tehran, Iran, doctoral candidate in applied mathematics.
  • Hannah Shear, Winchester, Kentucky, doctoral candidate in agricultural economics.

Graduate Student Awards