Southwest Catbackers award scholarships to students in Liberal-Seward County area

Posted May 23, 2023


Fourteen area students have been awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $19,250. The scholarships were awarded by the Southwest Catbackers and the K-State Alumni Association. The Southwest Catbackers are located in the Liberal-Seward County area.

The recipients are Claudia Clark, Rylee Fann and Lakota Persing, Hugoton, Kansas; Sarah Headrick, Kismet, Kansas; Lanee Harp, Daniel Amparan, Lexi Franz, Adam Franco and Melissa Lujan, Liberal, Kansas; Paige Witzke, Plains, Kansas, Carissa Sohm, Rolla, Kansas; Kara Kunselman and Sean Wagner, Satanta, Kansas, and Christian Pena, Sublette, Kansas.

“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students and are excited to welcome them to K-State,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association and its board of directors are committed to helping prospective students attend K-State. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these scholarships possible through their loyal support.”

There are more than 379 K-State alumni and friends in the Liberal-Seward County area. The scholarship is for the 2023-24 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards approximately $550,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming.