The K-State Alumni Association started the Multicultural Constituent Program in March of 1992. It was a program that created and supported a variety of activities for over 5,000 multicultural alumni and students of color. Multicultural Constituent Program's main goal was to build and maintain strong relationships between the university, alumni, friends, and students. 

In 1993, the Multicultural Alumni Council (MAC) was created to serve as an advisory committee to the Alumni Association’s multicultural constituent program. Today, the Multicultural Constituent Program has evolved into the K-State Alumni Association's Assistant Director of Alumni and Diversity Programs position in the Programs Department. Over the years, MAC was at a standstill and the K-State Board of Directors set a goal in the strategic plan to re-establish the Council.

During the COVID-19 Pandemic, MAC and its activities transitioned from in-person programming to virtual alumni engagement. The goal of K-State Culturally was to be centered on celebrating, uplifting, and educating the wildcat community through the lens of communities of color affiliated with Kansas State University.

In 2024, the decision was made to rename MAC to the Council for Alumni Belonging, CAB. The renaming was approved after several groups stated that multicultural was outdated, and it isolated other identities who don’t identify themselves as “multicultural.” As MAC looked for ways to align itself to its original mission, it was critical to change its name for others to be included in the group.


Past Council Members
Mike Simms '89
Mario Garcia III '18
Jackie Huynh '16
Natasha Johnson '16
Louis Cordoba Dominguez '01
Kelly Williams '03
Adrian Rodriguez
Bryan Samuel
Leo Prieto '00
Chris Merriewether '10
Mary Abounabhan '18
Ian Bautista '94, '97
David Brown '77
Christine Caban '16
Brandon Clark '09
Marilyn Cuch '95
Sheila Ellis-Glasper '10
Cynthia Fails '02
Zuleica Gerardo '16
Myra Gordon
Talia Gutierrez '07
Calvin Mayfield '92
Christopher Merriewether '10
Makinsey McIntosh ’19
Skye Nguyen '97
Dana Owens '03
Leobardo Prieto '00
Sylvia Robinson '71
Joe Tinker '16
Jessica Vanderweide '07
Tyrone Williams
Kevin Burnett ‘79
Robert Pearson ‘96