The Alumni Excellence Award is an annual award recognizing a graduate of Kansas State University whose career, service and achievements exemplify the spirit, values and excellence of the university.

The Alumni Excellence Award is made possible by the generosity of the Curt ’73 and Sherry ’73 Frasier family of Beloit, Kansas. 

Jerry and Nancy Jaax2020 Recipients
Dr. Jerry '70, '72 and Dr. Nancy Dunn Jaax '71, '73

The Jaaxes have a long career in biosecurity, biosafety, and high hazard infectious disease research. As colonels in the U.S. Army Veterinary Corps, each was awarded the Legion of Merit, the Order of Military Medical Merit and numerous other recognitions, awards and commendations.

Learn more about the award recipients.

2020 Award Ceremony

In light of the continuing COVID-19 pandemic and in support of the steps being taken at Kansas State University, the Alumni Excellence Award ceremony to honor Jerry and Nancy Jaax will be delayed until fall 2021. 

We share in your disappointment that this event will be delayed, but know it's in the best interest of our alumni, faculty and staff. 


Alumni Excellence Award nominations are accepted year round

PDF nomination                             Online nomination