Distinguished Young Alumni

The Distinguished Young Alumni program is in its ninth year. It recognizes two Kansas State University graduates who are excelling in their professions and contributing to their communities.

The program is sponsored by the K-State Alumni Association’s Student Alumni Board and the board of directors. We encourage you to honor your outstanding graduates by nominating them for this award.

2021 Recipients 

The K-State Alumni Association is proud to announce the recipients of our 2021 Distinguished Young Alumni Award: Dr. Jamie Ball '10 and Kristine Larson Davis '15

Jamie DYA

Dr. Jamie Ball '10

Dr. Jamie Ball is a pediatrician at Golden Valley Memorial Healthcare. She earned a degree in biology and a secondary major in gerontology both in 2010. She has spent the past decade building a successful pediatric practice. Jamie delivers a practical, no-nonsense keynote on advice and life strategies for students pursing a future in healthcare.

Watch Keynote Presentation

Kris DYA

Kristine Davis '15

Kristine Davis is a trailblazer in every sense of the word — a talented engineer working for NASA on the Exploration Extravehicular Mobility Unit (xEMU) spacesuit, which will serve as the spacesuit for the planned Artemis missions. She earned a degree from K-State in 2015 in mechanical engineering. For her keynote presentation, Kris will share the unconventional techniques that helped her thrive as an engineer with the goal to land the first woman and next man on the moon by 2024, eventually taking “the next giant leap,” which is sending astronauts to Mars.

Watch Keynote Presentation



Sarah Sexton-Bowser

Sarah Sexton-Bowser '08

Managing Director
K-State's Center for Sorghum Improvement
Watch Keynote Presentation

Mindy McBee

Mindy McBee '12

Strategic Accounts Sales Leader
Watch Keynote Presentation

Charley Cull

Dr. Charley Cull '12, '14, '16

Veterinarian, Clinical Research Associate, Director of Stocker and Grazing Cattle
Midwest Veterinary Services, Central States Research Centre Inc., Veterinary Biomedical Research Center Inc.
Watch Keynote Presentation

Kale Monk

Kale Monk PhD '10, '13

Assistant Professor, State Extension Specialist 
Center for Policy and Family Research Fellow at the University of Missouri
Watch Keynote Presentation

Megan McCall

Megan McCall '08, '11

Remote on-call Bridge Coordinator 
Rose Brooks Center’s Bridge Program
Watch Keynote Presentation

Bryce Huschka

Bryce Huschka '07

Area Manager
Watch Keynote Presentation

Dalton Henry

Dalton Henry '07

Director of Policy
U.S. Wheat Associates
Watch Keynote Presentation

Jorge Mendoza

Jorge Mendoza '10

STEM exploration program manager 
The Ohio State University
Watch Keynote Presentation

Kourtney Bettinger

Dr. Kourtney Bettinger '06

Physician and pediatric resident 
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Watch Keynote Presentation

Clemente Jaquez

Clemente Jaquez '08

Design director
Hoefer Wysocki Architecture
Watch Keynote Presentation

Corey Fortin

Corey Fortin '06

United States Foreign Service
United States Agency for International Development in Uganda
Watch Keynote Presentation

Matt King

Matt King '07

Fund analyst
World Bank Group
Watch Keynote Presentation

Molly Hamm

Molly Hamm '10

Planning and research coordinator
The DREAM Project

Matt Wolters

Matt Wolters '03

Co-founder and co-owner
SureFire Ag Systems Inc.

Nick Piper

Nick Piper '08

Founder and CEO
Phoria Energy Solutions

Justine Sterling

Justine Sterling '07

Director of alumni relations
George W. Bush Presidential Center