The Dr. Ron and Rae Iman Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching, sponsored by the K-State Alumni Association, is designed to honor excellence in high quality of instruction, strong relationships with students inside and outside of the classroom and reputation for scholarship and distinguished service to the university. One annual award with a $5,000 stipend will be presented to a K-State faculty member with a full-time appointment for the 2024-2025 school year.

Award Criteria

• Nominator must be a current K-State faculty member
• Nominee must be a full-time K-State faculty member
• Nominee must have been on faculty at K-State for a minimum of five years
• Nominee must be available Thursday, Nov. 14, 2024, for the awards reception
Nomination must be received no later than Friday, Aug. 30, 2024

Nomination Evaluation

Distinguished service to profession demonstrated through leadership roles in and contributions to professional associations and societies and evidence in selection for awards and recognitions such as fellows of a society; distinguished service awards; recognition for outstanding mentoring; designation as Kansas State University Distinguished Professor; and university or professional association awards for professional contributions.

Contributions to the educational experience validated through mentoring of students and junior faculty; collaboration with faculty, students and staff at K-State and other universities; integration of effective and innovative teaching styles that motivate students and enhance classes taught at K-State; aid in the retention of students; or serving as a guest professor at other institutions of higher education.

Reputation for scholarship is evident through awards of grants and other funding attributed to the instructor through their direct efforts; practice of scholarship of teaching and learning, such as evidence-based instruction, presentations about teaching practices, and/or pedagogical research presentations; and strong working relationships on campus.

Note: A new nomination form must be submitted each year. Nominations are not carried forward from previous years.