Nominations open for 2018 Iman Outstanding Faculty Awards

Posted May 1, 2018

The K-State Alumni Association is seeking nominations for the 12th annual Dr. Ron and Rae Iman Outstanding Faculty Awards. The two $5,000 awards are presented to K-State faculty in recognition of their outstanding teaching and research. These awards are made possible with funding from Ron and Rae Iman, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Nominations for the 2018-19 awards will be accepted through 5 p.m. Friday, July 20. Additional details, including official nomination forms, can be found here. Both awards will be presented during a reception at the K-State Alumni Center on Monday, Oct. 15.

Ron Iman earned three degrees from K-State – a bachelor's degree in math education in 1962, a master's degree in 1970 and a doctorate in 1973, both in statistics – and continues to be actively engaged with the university. He has served on the K-State Alumni Association board of directors, was the alumni representative to the Kansas State University Research Foundation Board, was a past member of the College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Council and is a Kansas State University Foundation trustee. He was also recognized with the Arts and Sciences Distinguished Service Award in 1996. The Imans are life members of the Alumni Association.

For questions contact Michelle Elkins, associate director of awards and special events for the Alumni Association, at 785-532-5077 or

Past recipients are:
Research: Charles W. Rice
Teaching: Jeffrey S. Smith


Research: Dr. P.V. Vara Prasad
Teaching: Dr. Robert L. Larson

Research: Dr. John Blair
Teaching: Dr. Donald Saucier

Research: Dr. Jürgen A. Richt
Teaching: Dr. Swinder Janda

Research: Dr. Zhijian Pei
Teaching: Dr. Kenneth Harkin

Research: T. G. Nagaraja
Teaching: Andrew Barkley

Research: Michael R. Kanost
Teaching: Christopher M. Sorensen

Research: Mary Beth Kirkham
Teaching: Michael L. Wesch

Research: Daniel Marcus
Teaching: Derek Mosier

Research: Kenneth J. Klabunde
Teaching: Douglas K. Benson

Research: Gary W. Conrad
Teaching: Medhat M. Morcos