Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Independence

Posted June 5, 2019

Eleven area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University at the Power Catbackers of Southeast Kansas alumni/student banquet on May 30 in Independence, Kansas. There are more than 2,300 K-State alumni and friends in the Southeast Kansas area.

The recipients are Alexis Baughman, Altamont, Kansas; Michael Aylward, Chanute, Kansas; Cole Saye, Cherryvale, Kansas; Lakin Cherry, Girard, Kansas; Jack Eyster, Humboldt, Kansas; Emma Stoner, Independence; Cole Regehr, Iola, Kansas; Kohlton Kirby, McCune, Kansas; Meegan Dunham, Neodesha, Kansas; Ryan Beeson, Parsons, Kansas; and Aidan Harries, Pittsburg, Kansas.

The scholarships were awarded by the Southeast Kansas Area Alumni Club and Catbackers, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund and the K-State Alumni Association.

"We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. "The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support."

The scholarships are for the 2019-20 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards approximately $550,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming.