New leaders assume their roles on K-State Alumni Association board of directors

Posted June 5, 2019

The K-State Alumni Association board of directors transitioned its membership and leadership June 1 during the board's annual meeting in Manhattan, Kansas.

Kendal Frazier, Centennial, Colorado, who was named chair-elect last year, assumed his leadership position as 2019-20 chair at the annual meeting. Frazier earned his bachelor's degree from K-State in 1973. He has worked more than 34 years for the National Cattlemen's Beef Association, serving as CEO since 2015. Frazier succeeds Sylvia White Robinson, Kansas City, Kansas, who now fills the immediate past-chair position until June 2020. A 1971 K-State graduate, Robinson is a retired educator and former member of the Kansas Board of Regents, which governs the state's six universities.

In a general election this spring, members of the Alumni Association approved a slate of five new members of the board of directors.

These alumni also began their four-year terms at the board's annual meeting and will continue to June 2023.

They are Dr. Curt Coffman '90, Phoenix, Arizona, veterinarian and managing partner of Arizona Veterinary Dental Specialists; Jeff Ellison '90, an architect and president of Ellison – Auxier Architects Inc. in St. Joseph, Missouri; Jody Isch Lancaster '88, Ottawa, Kansas, who serves as director of volunteer services at Advent Health Ottawa; Zach Maier '09, product manager for Google Maps, New York; and Suze Brink Parker '81, '83, Overland Park, Kansas, president and CEO of Parker Communications Group.

Additional board leadership includes Steve Lacy '76, '77, Des Moines, Iowa, chairman of the Kansas State University Foundation board of directors; Curt Frasier '73, Beloit, Kansas, treasurer; Amy Button Renz '76, '86, Manhattan, president and CEO of the Alumni Association and board secretary; Greg Willems, Manhattan, president and CEO of the KSU Foundation; and K-State President Richard Myers '65, Manhattan.

Two K-State students filling yearlong standing appointments also assumed their seats on the board. They are Keaton Petite, Junction City, Kansas, Student Alumni Board president, and Jansen Penny, Burlington, Colorado, K-State student body president.

Outgoing members recognized for their service to the Alumni Association's board of directors were Steven Dunning '86, Hutchinson, Kansas; John Morgan '74, '76, Spicewood, Texas; Dr. Kate Perkins '91, '93, Howard, Kansas; Phillip Stroupe '76, '77, Waukesha, Wisconsin; and Dan Yunk '71, '75, '87 exiting past-chair, Manhattan, Kansas.

Jordan Kiehl '19, Fairway, Kansas, 2018-19 K-State student body president, and Hallie Lucas '19, Leavenworth, Kansas, 2018-19 Student Alumni Board president, also were recognized for their service.

"On behalf of the Alumni Association, I would like to extend our utmost appreciation for the leadership these volunteers, both past and present, have given to the organization," Renz said. "These K-Staters provide us with their time, talents and experiences which allow us to be better stewards of our mission to 'to lead and inspire lifelong involvement that will benefit Kansas State University and all members of our Wildcat Community.'"