Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Wichita

Posted April 20, 2016

Fifty-three area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $17,200 at the Wichita Area Alumni Club Dessert Social July 16 in Wichita, Kansas. There are approximately 15,000 K-State alumni and friends in the Wichita area.

The scholarships were awarded by the Wichita Area K-State Alumni Club, K-State Alumni Association, Compton Family Endowment, McCandless Family Endowment, Vanguard Endowment, Trumble Family Scholarship, Baird Private Wealth Management and the Frey/Wells Family Scholarship.

Forty-seven students received alumni club scholarships. The recipients are Braden Horsch and Cooper VenJohn, Andale, Kansas; Maxwell Braun and Abby Coleman, Andover, Kansas; Tyler Miller, Kathryn Rockers and Gabriel Fox, Augusta, Kansas; Caeden Venters, Bel Aire, Kansas; Alivia Dome, Colwich, Kansas; Tyler Fox, Derby, Kansas; Reagan McCune, El Dorado, Kansas; Samantha Lashley, Madolynn Rink and Christian Hawkins, Goddard, Kansas; Grady Toews, Hesston, Kansas; Becca Bailey and Brittany Vogel, Maize, Kansas; Joshua Gerber, Mulvane, Kansas; Emily Atkinson, Rose Hill, Kansas; Kacie Andrews, Brooklyn Barclay, Sydney Barclay, Amy Beliel, Gabe Carnley, Lauren Cayless, Emma Degenhardt, Celia Eichbauer, Alan Franco, Alyssa Fullington, Patrick George, April Gerhardus, Connor Herrman, Eric Honas, Makayla Honeycutt, Brooklyn Kennedy, Courtney Kessler, Mary Klausmeyer, Preston Meier, Levi Newman, Koby Nickel, Trinity Pfaff, Krista Phillips, Morgan Purdy, Claire Rathgeber, Devin Riordan, Lauren Skelton and Macy Wineland, Wichita.

Additionally, Connor Davis, Andover, Kansas, and Brandy Rigg, Douglass, Kansas, received the McCandless Family Endowed Scholarships; Scotney Reichenberger, Wichita, received the Compton Family Endowed Scholarship; Pryce Bhula, Wichita, received the Trumble Family/Baird Private Wealth Management Scholarship; Nathalie Wright, Wichita, received the Ed Frey and BJ Wells Family Scholarship; and Lindsay Adams, Wichita, received the Vanguard Endowment Scholarship.

"We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. "The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support."

The scholarships are for the 2019-20 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards approximately $550,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming.

Named Scholarship Winners