Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Ottawa

Posted August 9, 2016

Eight area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $3,000 at the Franklin County Friends of K-State picnic Aug. 2 in Ottawa, Kansas.


The recipients are Hannah Heatherman, Hannah Maxwell, Rebecca Vrbas and Sarah Ward, Ottawa; Macy Flory, Hunter Hollon, McKenzie Weien and Kara Wray, Pomona, Kansas.


The scholarships were awarded by the Franklin County Friends of K-State, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund, and the K-State Alumni Association.


“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”


The scholarships are for the 2016-17 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards more than $400,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are approximately 1,400 K-State alumni and friends in the Ottawa area.