Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Colby

Posted May 25, 2016

Seven area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State  University totaling $1,750 at the Northwest Kansas Alumni/Student/Catbacker Banquet on May 19 in Colby, Kansas.

The recipients are Bryce Arnberger, Jenna Crampton, Allie Friesen, Desi Schippers and Elissa Zerr, all of Colby; and Kami Miller and Maddy Walz, Rexford, Kansas.

 The scholarships were awarded by the Northwest Kansas K-State Alumni Club, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund, the K-State Alumni Association and the K-State President’s Office.

“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”

The scholarships are for the 2016-17 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards approximately $400,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming There are more than 1,000 K-State alumni and friends in the Northwest Kansas/Colby area.