Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Paola

Posted July 14, 2016

Eleven area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $3,300 at the East Central Kansas K-State Alumni Club alumni/student picnic July 7 in Paola, Kansas.

The recipients are Alex Aye and Erica Edwards, Louisburg, Kansas; Shelby Cooke, Osawatomie, Kansas; Jared Grieve, Tyler Hieber, Adrienne Maxwell, Justin Salisbury, Taylor Williams and Erin Winterscheid, Paola; and Collin Graves and Abigail Tucker, Spring Hill, Kansas.

The scholarships were awarded by the East Central Kansas K-State Alumni Club, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund and the K-State Alumni Association.

“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”

The scholarships are for the 2016-17 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards more than $400,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are more than 1,400 K-State alumni and friends in the Paola area.