Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Iola

Posted May 29, 2018

Fourteen area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $4,900 at the Power Catbackers of Southeast Kansas alumni/student banquet May 23 in Iola, Kansas.

The recipients are Will Holeman, Bronson, Kansas; Laura Benavides and Taryn Seely, Chanute, Kansas; Maria Kimzey, Fredonia, Kansas; Hunter Nickell, Humboldt, Kansas; Madison Carlin, Karly McGuffin, Drake Sell and Colton Toney, Iola; Cole Ellis, Nevada, Missouri; Connor Balthazor and Seth Hoffman, Pittsburg, Kansas; and Victoria Reed and Kendle Stockebrand, Savonburg, Kansas.

The scholarships were awarded by the Southeast Kansas K-State Alumni Club, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund and the K-State Alumni Association.

"We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. "The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support."

The scholarships are for the 2018-19 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards more than $550,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are more than 2,300 K-State alumni and friends in the Southeast Kansas area.