Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Emporia

Posted July 19, 2016

Six area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $2,750 at the Flint Hills K-State Catbacker Dinner, Auction and Practice Tailgate on June 21 in Emporia, Kansas.


The recipients are Kaitlin Houck, Americus, Kansas; Jessica Pietrowski, Cottonwood Falls, Kansas; Nick Kirmer, Emporia; Laura Krueger, Lebo, Kansas; Sydney Welsh, Lyndon, Kansas; and Shane Newton, Waverly, Kansas.


The scholarships were awarded by the Flint Hills Catbacker Club, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund and the K-State Alumni Association.


“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”


The scholarships are for the 2016-17 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards more than $400,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are approximately 2,600 K-State alumni and friends in the Emporia area.