Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Great Bend

Posted September 17, 2018

Fifteen area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $2,625 at the Great Bend Area K-State Alumni Club's alumni/student tailgate party Sept. 13 in Great Bend, Kansas.

The recipients are Alex Hammeke, Abigail McReynolds, Macy Munson and Maddy Ward, Ellinwood, Kansas; Ryan Gilliam, Darian Harbaugh, Molly Kaiser, Alyssa Keller and Marcie Schartz, Great Bend; Derek Boxberger, Trey Byers, Braxton Donovan and Xavier Robinson, Hoisington, Kansas; Lucas Higgason, Otis, Kansas; and Maitland Wiltse, Rush Center, Kansas.

The scholarships were awarded by the Great Bend Area K-State Alumni Club, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund, the K-State Alumni Association and the K-State Office of the President.

"We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. "The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support."

The scholarships are for the 2019-20 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards approximately $550,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are more than 1,270 K-State alumni and friends in Barton County.