Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Parsons

Posted June 27, 2017

Fourteen area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $4,900 at the Power Catbackers of Southeast Kansas alumni/student banquet May 24 in Parsons, Kansas.

The recipients are Wesley DeHaven, Fort Scott, Kansas; Ethan Doherty and Sydney Gottlob, Girard, Kansas; Daniel Grice, Cory Janasek, Will Schabel and Kyle Woods, Independence, Kansas; Gage Cleaver and Chase Regehr, Iola, Kansas; Caylee Egbert, McCune, Kansas; Meredith Taylor, Mound Valley, Kansas; Trinity Larkin, Parsons; Rachel Cortes, Pittsburg, Kansas; and Colton Sutterby, Savonburg, Kansas.

The scholarships were awarded by the Southeast Kansas K-State Alumni Club, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund and the K-State Alumni Association.

"We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students," said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. "The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support."

The scholarships are for the 2017-18 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards more than $500,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are more than 2,300 K-State alumni and friends in the Southeast Kansas area.