Students receive scholarships at K-State event in Hays

Posted May 25, 2017

Fourteen area students were awarded scholarships to Kansas State University totaling $7,000 at the Heartland Catbackers event May 19 in Hays, Kansas.

The recipients are Lindsay Augustine, Ellis, Kansas; and Mitchell Campbell, Katie Fross, Maddie Keller, Talyn Kleweno, Megan Koenigsman, Madyson Koerner, Daniel Lopez, Sage Markley, Justin McCullick, Kohlton Meyers, Laura Montgomery, Adam O’Connor and Breanna Park, Hays.

The scholarships were awarded by the Heartland Catbackers, the Col. Gayle Foster Endowed Scholarship Fund, the Larry and Kay Weigel Family Scholarship Fund and the K-State Alumni Association.

“We are so pleased to congratulate these outstanding students,” said Amy Button Renz, president and CEO of the K-State Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association board of directors is committed to helping prospective students attend K-State, and the alumni club scholarship program is a vital component in assisting those efforts. We greatly appreciate local alumni and friends who have helped make these awards possible through their loyal support.”

The scholarships are for the 2017-18 academic year. The Alumni Association annually awards more than $400,000 in student scholarships with funding provided by local K-State alumni and friends and Alumni Association programming. There are more than 1,700 K-State alumni and friends in the Hays area.