50 incoming K-State students receive Wabash CannonBall Kansas City Scholarships

Posted June 1, 2017

The K-State Alumni Association has awarded 50 scholarships to incoming Kansas State University freshman through the Wabash CannonBall Kansas City Gala.

The Wabash CannonBall Gala is an annual black-tie event which includes an evening of dining and dancing to raise scholarship money for students from the Kansas City-area to attend K-State. The gala was started in 2007 and, to date, has funded 438 scholarships for Kansas City-area students totaling $1,095,000. Additionally, the Wabash CannonBall Kansas City has funded a scholarship endowment fund totaling nearly $2,150,000.

Through the years, the Kansas City gala has raised more than $2.7 million for scholarships for students. Since 2007, the Wabash CannonBall gala has expanded to three other locations in Denver, Houston and the North Texas region.

“So many K-State students have benefitted from the generosity and support of their fellow Wildcats in the Kansas City area over the past decade,” said Andrea Bryant Gladin, director of alumni programs for the Alumni Association. “It is truly amazing to see how much this event has done for the K-State community as a whole. We want to thank everyone who has helped grow this event from where we started in 2007 to where we are today.”

The students receiving scholarships in the amount of $2,500 for the upcoming academic year were selected from a wide pool of applicants. To be eligible for the scholarship, students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25 on a weighted or unweighted scale and reside in the greater Kansas City-area, which includes Johnson and Wyandotte counties in Kansas, and Jackson, Cass, Clay and Platte counties in Missouri.

The incoming freshman who received the scholarship listed by hometown and high school are Molly Hackett, Saint James Academy; Bonner Springs, Kansas; David Apple, De Soto High School; and Rebecca Clancy, De Soto High School; De Soto, Kansas; Sara Gammon, Drexel High School; Drexel, Missouri; Natalie Mullin, Gardner Edgerton High School; Gardner, Kansas; Abigail Neal, Piper High School; and Richard Pappert, Piper High School; Kansas City, Kansas; Ethan Beumer, Winnetonka High School, Kansas City, Missouri; Ariana Cecil, Blue Valley High School; Erin Kellerman, Bishop Miege High School; Colin Kelly, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School; and Clara Pope, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School; Leawood, Kansas; Kayley Brethour, homeschool; Charles Corredor, Bishop Miege High School; Laura Florez, Shawnee Mission West High School; Abbey Heller, Olathe Northwest High School; Sarah Rose, Saint James Academy; Margo Walters, Saint James Academy; Vivian Weaver, Saint James Academy; Landry Weber, Bishop Miege High School; and Erin Wheeler, Saint James Academy; Lenexa, Kansas; Peter Fontaine, Bishop Miege High School; Mission, Kansas; Adrianna Castillo, Olathe Northwest High School; Hayden Dahm, Blue Valley Southwest High; Joseph Drilling, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School; Mary Hirtreiter, Olathe North High School; Natalie Jabben, Olathe North High School; Bret Knappenberger, Olathe South High School; Kaedyn Krizek, Olathe North High School; Olivia Pruss, Olathe Northwest High School; and Jacob Stegeman, Olathe Northwest High School; Olathe, Kansas; Braden Dow, Blue Valley Southwest High School; Lindsay Eckman, Blue Valley North High School; Evan Grimm, Olathe East High School; Katherine Horton, Olathe East High School; Kelsie McFadden, Blue Valley High School; Milan Minocha, Olathe Northwest High School; Hannah Peterson, Kansas City Christian School; Theresia Sharpe, Blue Valley Northwest High School; Cameron Stout, Shawnee Mission West High School; Emily Sweat, Olathe East High School; and Anna VanElders, Kansas City Christian School; Overland Park, Kansas; Dawson Bailey, Raymore Peculiar High School, Raymore, Missouri; Madison Brown, Shawnee Mission North High School; Natalie Burton, Bishop Miege High School; Ariana Coker, Shawnee Mission West High School; Nathan Kowynia, De Soto High School; and Marlaina Markwart, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Shawnee, Kansas; Andrew Crouse, Smithville High School; Smithville, Missouri; and Jonah Vandel, West Platte High School; Weston, Missouri.

These current K-State students have received the opportunity to have their scholarship renewed for the 2017-18 school year.

They are Abby Oberle, De Soto; Cooper McGuire, Gardner; Anna Kucera, Kansas City, Kansas; Cade McCoy and Chloe Shearon, Lenexa; Rachael Cunningham, Merriam, Kansas; Andrew McKittrick, Mission Hills, Kansas; Jordan Bartz, Samuel Fruth, Griffin Karr and Daniel Lovell, Olathe; Katie Kralicek, Tiffani Lawrence, Nathan McClain, Zachary Stanley, Overland Park.

Learn more about the Wabash CannonBall Kansas City galas or view a list of past scholarship recipients.